skip to content

Technician Development

Awards that recognise the role of technical staff in delivering excellence and grants that technical staff can apply for.
Award Details
HEaTED STEM Inspiration Awards HEaTED STEM Awards open to technical staff.
IET Technician of the Year Award Institute of Engineering and Technology (IET) - Technician of the Year.
ICE Awards Institute of Civil Engineers (ICE) - Eloise Plunkette Award and QUEST Technician Plus Scholarship.
IOP Technician Award Institute of Physics (IOP) - Technician Award.
RSB HE Bioscience Technician of the Year Award Royal Society of Biology (RSB) and the University Bioscience Managers Association (UBMA) - HE Bioscience Technician of the Year Award.
RSC Higher Education Technical Excellence Award Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) Higher Education Technical Excellence Award.
Papin Prizes Midlands Innovation Partnership - Papin Technical Excellence Awards.

Nominations now closed.

Nominations open every two years due December 2020.

WISE Technician Award Women in Science, Technology, and Engineering (WISE) - Technician Award.
IOP, IET and Science and Technology Facilities Council School Grants Scheme Funding in the form of grants, awards and exchange schemes for physicists, teachers, students, schools and colleges.
The STFC Public Engagement Reaction Awards Science and Technology Facilities Council Grants and Awards for public engagement.
RAE Ingenious Public Engagement Awards The Royal Academy of Engineering (RAE) Ingenious is an awards scheme for projects that engage the public with engineers and engineering while providing engineers with skills and opportunities in public engagement.
IST Awards Valery Chapman Award

The John Robinson award

S-Lab Making a Difference Awards The S-Lab Awards for Excellence in Laboratory Design, Management and Operation were initiated in 2012 and have been held every year since.
THE Awards Outstanding Technician of The Year This award will be given to an individual whose exceptional practical skills, commitment and vision have enabled the highest quality teaching, research or knowledge transfer. It is open to technicians working in any discipline in UK universities and research institutes. Entries will be accepted from institutions, technicians themselves, their colleagues or students, but in all cases testimonies must form part of the supporting documentation.
Science Council CPD Awards The CPD Awards are designed to celebrate outstanding professional development in science, showcasing examples of good practice and continuous improvement. They celebrate the professional development efforts and achievements of registrants across the four Science Council registers: Registered Science Technician (RsciTech), Registered Scientist (RSci), Chartered Scientist (CSci), and Chartered Science Teacher (CSciTeach).